Looking at election results from contested races around the area, Jim Curtiss was elected mayor in Montevideo with Steve Sufflow, Dan Sanborn  and Bryce Curtiss elected to the Montevideo council. In Litchfield, Kieth Johnson was elected mayor and taking council seats were Eric Mathwig in ward 1 and Sara Miller in ward 5. Steve Nordaune and Brad Peterson were elected to the Granite Falls council. In Maynard, Jay Maurice and Tyler Degner were elected to the council. Gene Allex was elected mayor in Danube. In Appleton, Dan Tosel was elected mayor and Jason Heinecke and Tori
Hammerud took council positions. In Clara City, the on sale liquor license issue for Sunday sales was passed. The mayor of Glenwood will be Sherri Kazda with Donna Martin and Neil
Haynes elected to the council. In Starbuck, Ted Razink and Chris Taffe will be on the city council. Sheldon Giese was elected mayor of Morris. Councilmen elected in Alexandria include Bill Franzen in ward 1, Roger Thalman in ward 2 and Dave Benson in ward 4.

In contested races around Kandiyohi County, Brian Carlson and Sandra Walsh were elected to the Atwater city council. In Kandiyohi, Scott McGillivray and Josh Larcom were elected to the council. In Paynesville, Jeff Thompson was elected mayor with Shawn Reinke and
Neil Herzberg elected to the council. Rick Tschida was elected mayor in Belgrade with Betty Braegleman and Kent Carda elected to the council. Elected to the BBE school board were Paul Gregory, Scott Voss, Aaron  Radermacher and Pat Thieschafer. Janet Fleck and Andrea Hiltner were elected to the council in Regal. Bruce Bastin and Laurie Maresch were elected to the Pennock city council.

 Marv Calvin was re-elected Mayor of Willmar with 5,149 votes to Steve Peppin’s 1773 votes. Vicki Davis was elected in Ward 2 with 1,039 votes to Christina Nelsons 946. The sales tax of one half of one percent passed with 4141 votes yes to 2641 no. Eric Holien will be the new Kandiyohi County Sheriff with 9465 votes to Greg Steen’s 8535. Kandiyohi County Commissioners elected Rollie Nissen in district 3 with 2623 votes to Bruce Shucks 1761 votes. In district one George “Corky” Berg won with 1736 votes to Dale L. Anderson’s 1261. Dave Baker won the State district 17B race over Anita Flowe 11,908 to 5311. Tim Miller won District 17A over Lyle Koenen 9816 to 6622. Elected to the Willmar School Board were Mary Amon, Jay Lawton and Mike  O’Brien. The Willmar school operating levy passed 6047 to 3649.

The MACCRA Y bond referendum failed again. The question on the ballot involved keeping schools in Maynard, Raymond and Clara City with work done on each site. Total no votes in the district were 3606 with yes votes totaling 2549.

BBE’s operating levy failed with 790 no votes to 736 yes.

ACGC’s building bond referendum passed with 1266 yes to 1244 no—Iess
than one percent difference.

Ten people ran for the New London-Spicer school board with Nancy Wehseler, Mark Peterson, Gary Danielson and Cherrish Holland being elected. Christa Otteson and John Bergman were elected to the New London City council.

Previous articleNovember 6th, 2018
Next articleNovember 8th, 2018


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here